DWSP Header Banner

Meet the New Mattagami Region Source Protection Committee Chair

The Mattagami Region Conservation Authority is pleased to announce that Scott Tam is the new Chair of the Mattagami Region Source Protection Committee (SPC). The Honourable David Piccini, Ontario Minister of the Environment, Conservation and Parks recently appointed Scott Tam as Chair of the Mattagami Region Source Protection Committee (SPC). Tam started as a municipal representative on the committee in 2015. He also served as interim Chair in 2022 before being announced by the Province of Ontario in February 2023, as the new Source Protection Committee Chair. Tam takes over from past Chair’s George Pirie who served in the role between 2019 and 2022 and George Hughes who served on the committee when it was formed in 2007 until 2019.
“It is an honour to be appointed as Chair of this committee,” said Tam. “I have been on the Source Protection Committee as a municipal representative since 2015 and I look forward to my new role as Chair.” Ensuring our community has a safe and clean source of municipal drinking water is my highest priority, he said.
To learn more about Chair Tam and the rest of the Source Protection Committee, visit the Source Protection Committee webpage.