DWSP Header Banner

George Pirie

Source Protection Committee Chair

George Pirie, Chairman of the Mattagami Region Source Protection Committee (MRSPC) was appointed by the Minister of the Environment, Conservation and Parks on September 23, 2019.

George Pirie is the current Mayor of the City of Timmins and the Chair of the Cochrane District Social Services Administration Board. He has an Honours Bachelor of Commerce from Laurentian University.

Mayor Pirie has over thirty-five years of experience as a mining executive, with seventeen at a senior level, both in executive and board capacities, internationally and domestic. He has also served on numerous boards in capacities such as Chair and Director as well as served on several Audit Committees with various businesses.

He is currently a director with Wahgoshig Resources Inc., Niiwin Corporation and a founder of 5SD Capital. He is serves as the Chairman of the Board of Governors with Northern College, Chair of the Timmins Police Services Board as well as a board member of the Timmins Economic Development Corporation. He has also co-chaired local United Way campaigns, served on local hospital boards and community associations.